2015 Financial Goals

I wanted to write and publish this post before the new year began but failed, obviously.  You’d think that being the avid list-maker and goal-oriented person that I am, this post would’ve been one of the quickest and easiest for me to write.  Au contraire!  I’ve been drafting and redrafting this post for a week!

My writers block is most likely caused by the fact that I don’t have anything to cross off my financial “to-do list” at the moment.  I don’t have any consumer debt or student loans to pay off.  I don’t have any major purchases lined up.  And since I’ve been saving for retirement, I can’t say this is the year I’m finally going to start.

After mulling over this for a few days, I’ve decided that my financial goals for 2015 will be adjustments to how I’m already spending/saving.  For example, I’ve increased the amount of money I give to church and my mom every month and plan on sticking to this new amount for the rest of the year.  I’ve also increased the amount that gets taken out of each paycheck for my Roth 401k.  An expense I’m aiming to decrease this year is the amount I spend on work lunches.  I learned the hard way (read: painful stomach aches from lack of fresh food) that my “solution” for saving money on work lunches isn’t much of a solution at all.

What about you?  Have you figured out your financial goals for 2015?

Leave a Reply

